Visitor Reviews

REVIEW LODGE 2013 (Tripadvisor.ie)

“Fun and Friendly”
Reviewed 5 October 2013
I just got back from a two night stay in Pure Magic. It was great; clean rooms, delicious food, fun activities and really, really great staff. Its a must if you’re anywhere in the area. I went for a kite surfing lesson which I really enjoyed, before we borrowed two bikes and cycled out to the edge of the island where you get spectacular views.

“Perfect”
Reviewed 2 September 2013
My mistake was telling the truth. 
When my wife and I were planning to cycle the ‘Greenway’ she insisted on staying somewhere really good. Our first choice was the 4* hotel in Mullaranny, but they were (un)fortunately fully booked. I then went on a solo run and booked Pure Magic, based on reviews in the Irish Times and TA. When my wife enquired about our accommodation for the weekend, I truthfully told her that I had booked a ‘surfer’s hostel on Achill’. She is a good sport, but It was with some trepidation that we arrived tired and hungry at 8:30 on a Friday night.I started unloading the bikes and she checked us into the Australia room. Five minutes later she was hooked – the welcome we received from the staff was brilliant. The rooms are simple, but clean and comfortable with no TV (a big plus!!). The relaxed vibe in the whole place is infectious, with a few places where you can really chill out.
The food in the restaurant is absolutely top notch – beautifully prepared using local ingredients, without being over cheffed and pretentious. A €3.50 daily corkage fee is a brilliant idea that really works. I brought along a few choice bottles and this really added to the experience.
We are already planning to bring a group over next summer for walking and cycling.
A real find, and well done to the team.

“Excellent Breakfast”
Reviewed 15 August 2013
We only stayed one night which was not long enough. The atmosphere at the place was very happy and relaxed. Our room was very small but they had made the best use of space,making the room an Eastern Top of the World room, with a small ladder to climb onto the bed. The continental breakfast was very substancial and I only wished we could have stayed longer to have joined in the music and try all the menu.

“Pure Magic Rocks!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2013
We have just returned from a week’s stay at Pure Magic, that is me and my 3 sons aged 20, 17 and 14. Had a most superb time , as not only was the food first rate but staff were so friendly and accommodating.
Francois gave the boys great tips on how to surf and arranged their boards and wet suits, which they loved and are now hooked.
Also, there was a great laid back atmosphere and it is a beautiful setting.
My only regret is we didn’t have enough time to join in with some of the music gatherings as we were on our own huge family gathering. Ah well, there is always next year !!!

“Pure Magic is just that!”
Reviewed 8 August 2013
I can’t offer enough praise for Pure Magic guest house/lodge – the staff are incredibly accommodating and welcoming; the rooms are cheerfully decorated, clean, and comfortable; the food is superb; and, best of all, there’s wonderful music and fun for people of all ages. I stayed there with two friends during the week of the Scoil Acla Music School and we laughed, ate, and sang our hearts out. I loved especially how children were encouraged to sing and play instruments in and around the restaurant. Despite the frenzy of the week, the staff were never frazzled. Francois, one of the owners, even gave us a good deal on the cost despite surprising him with a third person at the last minute. One way to tell if a place is good or not is to observe whether the staff members smile at all. Pure Magic employees never stop smiling! The whole stay was Pure Joy. In fact, that might be the only better name for it!

“The most family friendly restaurant on Achill.”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile
Great food, in particular great fresh pizzas. Parents can relax and eat in comfort while kids play with snooker table(free!), or outside on hammock swings. Off the road, really safe. We have kids ages 2, 4 and 6, they love the freedom of the place. Also, not sure what the coffee brand is, but it is the best on the island, you get s double shot without having to ask. Top marks!

“Amazing customer service”
Reviewed 22 July 2013
Had booked a room for 2 nights on June bank holiday weekend. On arrival it turned out that there was a misunderstanding and they hadn’t booked us in for the first night. The staff quickly found us a B&B close by and we stayed the first night for free there and got breakfast in PurMagic. Overall, the staff was super helpful and friendly and we got free desserts and coffees to make up for the mistake (on top of not paying the for the B&B on first night). PurMagic has great rooms, all nicely decorated. The food is amazing and such good value for money overall! Can really recommend to stay there and definitely EAT! Great find for such a small island…

“very nice staff and lovely location”
Reviewed 22 July 2013
Pure Magic is in one of the nicest location of Ireland. it is run from a bunch of nice French Guys.
I would imagine it is motorcycle and cyclist friendly due to the fact that it has a room to dry wetsuits and therefore could dry Bike gear too.
We only had breakfast there but I’d like to go back and try the restaurant as well.
the rooms are nice but are not posh, do not expect a 4-5 accomodation.
the place has a lot of charme.

“Great stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile
Stayed here after cycling the greenway, really nice place, it is a bit out when you are on a bike but not that much, staff very sound and great breakfast when we stayed, would definitely recommend it!

“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013
We dined here on Saturday the 8th of June, the atmosphere is electric, the staff are excellent and the pizza is way up there on our Richter scale! The food was fresh, hot and quite tasty. 
The views from the dining area are breathtaking and the good weather just made it a delightful experience. The staff are quite friendly and most cordial. 
It was quite busy and there was a great buzz about the place. You can bring your own wine / beer and there is a fee of € 3.50 for the glass, which is very reasonable, maybe more restaurants shoud adopt this approach and there business may boom like Pure Magic! 
I have no problem recomending this eatery and will be back.

“Superb!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile
Made a trip to Achill in May with a few friends. We samtayed in a holiday home in Dugort and on a friends recommendation we visited pure magic for a coffee and a drink. The atmosphere here is amazing, really relaxing. Great tunes, seating and views. Friendly service, good wine & beer. Only problem was that we went the evening before we left so didn’t get to spend as much time at pure magic as we would have liked. Will definitely be back!

“Does exactly what it says on the tin”
Reviewed 15 May 2013
This place is a real find – one of those original places that has a unique atmosphere that comes from being run by people with a passion for what they do.
Not the height of luxury accommodation, but warm, friendly, relaxing, great location and amazing food. 

Dying to go back – great craic!

“Pure Magic, Achill”
Reviewed 3 May 2013
We stayed in the Hawai room, it was nice.
Every room is nicely decorated.
Excellent pizza, beautiful house wine, lovely pastries… Pure lush. 
Nice breakfast too, the chef had baked a ‘far breton’ which is one of the best pastry in the world and Chef Bruno’s one is the ‘bestest’.
Very accomodating owner and staff, pleasant and funny, sharing their enthusiasm for the island and life in general.
A lively and relaxing place at once.

“Delicious pizzas in a friendly environment”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile
Arrived starving and seeking food for nine people at about 9.30 pm. The kitchen had been closed since 9pm but the chef kindly agreed to rustle up some pizzas. The pizzas were yum and the service was brilliant. We didn’t stay in the guesthouse but as we are planning a group trip to Achill in a few months Francois offered to show us the rooms which are all themed to represent different places around the world. Will definitely be back!

“Amazing Place”
Reviewed 21 February 2013
Maybe the bes place all over Ireland to pratice water sports.

I really enjoy the few days with my friends and with sun and warm wind. 

A Fun Pure Magic team, a good food and some perfect spots where you can progress over and over on the lake or on the sea and the waves.

REVIEW RESTAURANT 2013 (Tripadvisor.ie)

“Excellent pizza”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 NEW
I didn’t expect to get such good pizza in a non Italian restaurant but this was the best I have tasted in a long time. The coffee was good too. The location was scenic, with a great view of Slievemore Mountain and Keel Lake and Beach with the Minaun Cliffs in the background.

It was slightly pricy but if you like pizza it might be well worth it for you.

The menu was limited, but this may be because it was out of season. 

Pure Magic is a hostel and has a hostel feeling but it is quaint and in a lovely setting which more that makes up for it being budget accommodation

“Unexpectedly good!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013
We walked into a dim, empty room and thought that the restaurant/bar had closed. Within minutes, a fire was lit, lights were switched on, music was playing and a video was projected on a wall. We settled into comfy chairs and ordered some wine and pizzas. Although only two others came to eat while we were there, there was plenty of atmosphere, the food was good and we enjoyed our evening. We would certainly return.

“Fantastic”
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile
Service I have to say this year has been way better. Really friendly staff. The food is to die for. Our waitress was grace, and she was brilliant couldn’t do enough. Will be back next year!

“International feel, local friendliness…”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile
Over the month of August had the pleasure of dining here three times, each time with ravenous kids, who passed the waiting time outside swinging on the hammock and trees. Staff are international, US, Venezuela and French of course. Service was friendly and attentive from our Seattle waitress. She was a star. Food was fresh, tasty and delicious at a reasonable price. Nice wine list available or bring your own at €3.50 corkage. Only one beer available though which is a shame but noticed other diners had brought their own too. All in all a nice place with a real buzzing atmosphere, helpful, laid back but energetic staff who do really try. A great addition to Achill.

“Unexpectedly fab”
Reviewed 3 September 2013
Myself and hubby and dogs had just walked the greenway over two days which was over 40km. When we arrived here we were tired. We were the only guests and the only people left in the place overnight as the season hadn’t kicked in and the p,ace didn’t open early in the week at this time( April ) . The place was being run by three French guys- three fantastic Bons hommes. They teach surfing by day and run this guest house / restaurant by night. Our welcome was warm, friendly, jovial and helpful. Because the place was not busy they were happy to take my two small dogs which in Ireland is damn rare. We had a simple but beautiful room, tastefully furnished with clean fresh linen and a good lash of seafaring aesthetic. We found it very relaxing. The rest of the guesthouse was tastefully shabby chic, carefully put together inexpensive bits of old furniture , brick a brack and wall hangings- we found it homely and pleasing to hang in the lounge after a long walk. Bruno ( who is a pastry chef ) put together a lovely simple breakfast for us of hard boiled eggs, lovely local cheeses ( none of your processed crap) and mouthwateringly fabulous brioche that he made himself from scratch . We jumped out of bed in the morning for it! We were to stay only one night but stayed two because we were caught up in the lovely place, the close proximity to Keel and beach walks and the remoteness of the retreat . We ate a wonderful pizza and inventive green salad( bouncing fresh)in the evening- again made from scratch by Bruno oh and the best lemon tart i have ever put in my mouth ( from scratch again by Bruno)and were wooed by sounds from Motown and easy jazz in front of a roaring fire and the whole room lit with candle light. I know it gets mad busy at the weekends – and so it should ( so it totally suits the partying ,surfing youth) but our time before the weekend was a beautiful quiet oasis of calm.

“Nice food, strange setup, attentive staff.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile
We arrived with a large group and booked for 9 pm. The staff was accommodating but not over friendly. The pizzas were big and very tasty. The entrees were equally nice as well. Decent wine line but had only one awful offbrand beer to offer. We were sat at the bar area with a bunch of round tables pushed together. It was tight but worked. The kids were amused by the surf videos being shown on the side wall. It was pricey but given the area and choices I can’t complain. We were never rushed and left around 1130. Still customers when we left. Would definately go back.

“Quirky and tasty”
Reviewed 25 August 2013
Lovely setting , great service and great atmosphere. Great selection to suit all on the menu … went for the very tasty steak with great skinny fries . Worth a visit

“Lovely food in a buzzing atmosphere”
Reviewed 24 August 2013
Two adults and three teens just back from Achill where we eat in this restaurant. We all loved our food especially the pizzas. Also the deserts went down a treat particularly with the teens.The chocolate brownies with walnut especially popular. We wanted to go back again but unfortunately did not get an opportunity. There is a certain atmosphere about this place that you know the minute you enter it that you will enjoy it. Service and staff were very nice and added to the overall enjoyable experience. Make a booking though if it is peak time.

“Very good takeaway pizza”
Reviewed 17 August 2013
Really good pizza, quick out of the kitchen, reasonable prices, good choice of toppings. 2 things to note which annoyed us – we had called in earlier that day to get a menu to be told by the owner to ring our order in but when we did the voice mail said the inbox was full. Also, none of the 3 pizzas were sliced. An oversight? Careless. Still, we all really enjoyed the food!

“Good stuff”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile
Everything I’ve had at Pure Magic has been fantastic. Pizza, fish and chips, duck, and, my favorite, their Irish Lamb. Yum!!!

“Great food!”
Reviewed 5 August 2013
This restaurant has a really nice casual atmosphere. The staff were very friendly. The food selection was varied from pizza to posh nosh It was superb. In fact we went back the next night!

“Magic!!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013
Just finished our short family holiday in Achill, our third stay this year in Pure Magic, which speaks for itself. The food (breakfast and dinner), atmosphere and the friendily hosts and staff are all excellent. Plus they organised a family SUP for us which was great fun! Can’t recommended it enjoy. We will be back!

“Great chill out place!”
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile
Called in here on the Shnday night of our stay. Just dropped in for a coffee but ended up staying for hours. Atmosphere and music are so chilled out. We weren’t eating here that night, which we regretted, mainly because the deserts sounded amazing. We had a few drinks and a game of pool. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Wish we had more time here, highly recommended!

“A little piece of Heaven!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013
What can I say, we happened to be here for the heatwave of the decade, with the exception of a few days in the middle, we spent the week in Dugort. 
Dugort is off the beaten track and is very quiet compared to some of the villages on the island, however this is, in my opinion, an advantage!! 
There are a number of pubs, restaurants and a coffee shop to choose from. 
The beaches are blue flag, guarded and quite clean.

“Great for chilled weekend”
Reviewed 19 May 2013
Really nice place with cool chilled people. Simple food done very well. There is no stress here but the pizza I had was as good as anywhere. Breads and breakfast really good too. Nice place to visit if you looking for a relaxed vibe.

“Savage food!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013
Amazing food served without a fuss. Had pizzas the first night that were incredible. Had a full sit down three course dinner for 15 the next night, and it was great food amazingly cheap for classy french cuisine

“Great place… Lovely food and fab atmosphere!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile
Had dinner her on Sunday night if the may bank holiday weekend.. Food ( bruscetta, goats cheese, pizza, lasagne , lemon tart, coffee and a lovely red!) restaurant was buzzing… Staff were terrific … Recommend it highly!

Booking.com

“The atmosphere is perfect, everyone mixs with each other!”

“The Staff were excellent. The location was excellent too.”

“Food was excellent. Staff friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable. Plenty of parking.”

“Staff and friendliness, Loved the staff and general atmosphere of the place. Great food in the restaurant and stunning views across the lake to keel beech.”

“The amazing atmosphere, great food and live music.”

“Food was delicious. Place was quiet at night-good sleep!”

“The food was amazing, would definitely eat there again.”